Theme picker

District II

Welcome > Departments > Board of Supervisors > Districts > District II
District II Supervisor
Jesse Thompson-
District II
Supervisor Jesse Thompson serves as District II Supervisor. He was first elected to the Navajo County Board of Supervisors in 1992. His wisdom, passion and expertise in Native American, local government, and economic development issues have resulted in his successful re-election for five additional terms. Supervisor Thompson graduated from Northern Arizona University in 1973 with a degree in Education. Prior to becoming a member of the Navajo County Board of Supervisors, Supervisor Thompson served as a Tribal Operations Specialist for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. His relationships across the southwest and the greater United States make him a tremendous resource for every organization with which he works.

Supervisor Thompson is active in the National Association of Counties (NACo), where he serves on the NACo Transportation Steering Committee. He currently serves on the Northern Arizona Council of Governments (NACOG) Economic Development Council Tourism Committee and the NACOG Transportation Advisory Committee as a Tribal Government Representative. He is also active with the North Region Advisory Committee (NRAC) for Homeland Security.  He works with the office of the Navajo Nation's, Navajo-Hopi Land Commission. He is a past member of the Little Colorado River Plateau Resource Conservation and Development (LCR RC&D). Supervisor Thompson is affiliated with the County Supervisors Association (CSA), Arizona Association of Counties (AACo), is a past-Chairman of the Arizona North Eastern Economic Development (ANEED) Committee, and a past member of the Tri County-State Elected Officials group. Supervisor Thompson was appointed to the Arizona State Transportation Board in 2017. 

Supervisor Thompson’s priorities include Reservation school bus route road improvements on the Navajo Nation and Hopi Reservations, veterans' affairs, senior centers, and education for youth. He has been active in the support of the Winslow Levee Rehabilitation Project for flood mitigation, serving as Chairman of the Winslow Levee Advisory Committee.  Supervisor Thompson serves Navajo County District II, which covers a portion of the Navajo Reservation and the entire Navajo County portion of the Hopi Reservation; all or part of the chapters and villages of: Birdsprings, Dilkon, Greasewood, Indian Wells, Jeddito, Keams Canyon, Low Mountain, Oraibi, Polacca, Teesto, Toreva, Whitecone; and most of the City of Winslow.

 Supervisor Thompson and his wife, Louise, reside in the Teesto-Hardrock communities and have five children and nine grandchildren.


Direct: (928) 524-4056
Message: (928) 524-4053